Link to the League for Innovation web site

Student Literary Competition 2012

Eastfield Winners

  Essay Fiction One-Act Play Poetry

Kevin Cushingberry
“The Aquarium”

William Davis
“Experimental Intelligence”

Lucas Haupert
“Resolutions: No Regrets”

Jimmie Allen
“The Vestment”


William Davis
“The Testing of Restraint”

Matina Newsom
“After Ever After: A Mermaid’s Tale”

William Davis
“Dig Not a Hole”

William Davis
“Small Green Tree Lizard”


Lee Cannon
“The Asphalt Sea”

Rebecca Trotter
“And They Were Broken”


Zachary Armstrong
“Lovely Luna”

Honorable Mention

Katelyn Miller
“Morning Star”

Layne Taylor
“Strength through Family”

Yesenia Aranda
“Not Worth the Money at All”

Katelyn Miller
“Cold Memories”

Ernesto Salazar
“Taking Leadership”

Katelyn Miller
“Death Talks”


Rebecca Trotter
“Hemphill, Texas; circa 2011”

Rebecca Trotter
“Conquest of Devil’s Ride: A Broken Sonnet”

Zachary Armstrong

As placed winners, these student writers will be published in The Alternative (for poetry and fiction) and the Sigma Kappa Delta-sponsored The Eclectic (for everyone). We will have an award ceremony as well as student readings during the Literary and Fine Arts Festival in mid-April for these students, open to everyone. Also, our first place winners win the grand prize of $100 and automatically advance to the DCCCD League for Innovation Literary Competition, being held right now.